Never Have I Ever by Sara Shepard – Review

This is the second installment in The Lying Game series by Sara Shepard. If you are unfamiliar with the series, it is about two twin sisters; Emma and Sutton. These sisters were separated at birth, and have grown up in completely different environments. Emma has been living in foster homes since she was little and has always dreamed of having a normal life. On the other hand, Sutton was adopted into a wealthy family, has the nice house, nice car, and preppy friends; a life many of us would be envious of. When Emma stumbles upon a video of someone looking identical to her being strangled, she goes on the hunt looking for her long lost sister. Although the one thing Emma doesn’t know right away is that her sister Sutton has been murdered and her killer is trying to lure Emma closer, although we don’t know why — maybe to kill her too? Later on, Emma takes the place of Sutton and carries on her life to find more clues regarding what happened to her sister. The killer is closer than you think, and has even threatened Emma to keep up the act of being Sutton or something terrible will happen to her.

In the second book, Never Have I Ever, Emma is still pretending to be Sutton and is trying to get one step further in solving her sisters murder — and ultimately find out who the killer is. Throughout the first book and this one as well, Emma realizes that Sutton had a lot of enemies because of The Lying Game. This game was developed by Sutton and her friends while the premise of this game is to prank different people — and even your closest friends. This second book is a fast-pace read with lots of twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat and guessing who the killer could potentially be. Sutton has done many things in her past to hurt people, and Emma is in real danger by trying to solve her sisters murder. However, if Emma wants to clear some names from her suspect list, she too might have to play The Lying Game.

Continue reading for my full review on Never Have I Ever by Sara Shepard.

Continue reading


The Devouring by Simon Holt – Review

This is the first installment in The Devouring series written by Simon Holt. In this book, we follow Regina Halloway, a teenage girl who loves reading scary stories and watching horrifying movies. Reading these stories helps to distract Reggie from the realities of her own life. Reggie’s mother walked out on her and the rest of her family over a year ago and they have not heard from her since. Reggie’s father is distant and hasn’t been himself in a long time, and Reggie is ultimately raising her little brother, Henry, all by herself. With her crazy life, Reggie finds time for something she enjoys, working part-time at a local book store. One day, Reggie discovers a journal titled “The Devouring” and just passes it off as an unpublished fiction book. She later takes it home and reads it. The book describes these creatures called “Vours” who inhabit the bodies of people on Sorry Night and control their every move. Naturally, Reggie shares this with her friend Aaron who is also a horror buff, and they cannot resist trying to summon the Vours on Sorry Night. Something strange happened that night, but neither Reggie nor Aaron ended up possessed. After that night, Reggie’s brother Henry was never the same. He was different — changed — evil. Soon after, Reggie realizes this story about the Vours was not fiction at all, and Henry has become a Vour. To save her brother, Reggie must devour her fear, before her fear devours her.

Continue reading for my full review on The Devouring by Simon Holt.

Continue reading

Secret Society by Tom Dolby – Review

In the novel, Secret Society, written by Tom Dolby, we follow the lives of four privileged students who attend Chadwick Prep, one of Manhattan’s most elite schools. In the novel, we are introduced to Phoebe, the new girl in town who likes to create artwork; Lauren, the popular socialite who has a passion for fashion; Nick, the club promoter who belongs to one of New York’s wealthiest families; and Patch, the amateur filmmaker who isn’t as well-off as the rest. In one way or another, these four teens come into contact with “The Society”. The Society has been in New York for many years and works very hard remain secret and preserve “a way of life”. Every year, The Society recruits new members to join their organization and in return, they promise success, fame, and fortune. After receiving mysterious text messages, the recruits find themselves in a run down part of town getting initiated into The Society. At the end of their initiation, they become “marked” with an ankh tattoo on their necks. At first, the perks of The Society are really wonderful and too good to pass up. But when the body of a teenage boy shows up in Central Park, with no identifying marks, except for a little ankh tattoo on his neck, some of the kids start to question the motives of The Society. This novel is filled with many exciting and mysterious things, from amazing parties at clubs, to discovering secrets your family has been hiding for years. When things start to unravel, and questions are answered, there is one thing the kids are most fearful of: once you are in The Society, you can never get out.

Continue reading to get my full review on Secret Society by Tom Dolby.

Continue reading

Twisted by Sara Shepard – Pretty Little Liars Book #9 – Review

This is the ninth installment in the Pretty Little Liars series of books written by author Sara Shepard. This book review will contain no spoilers for those of you who have not began reading Twisted or the other eight books in the series. Throughout this review I will discuss the synopsis of the book, writing style, plot, characters, what I liked and disliked, and finally my overall rating of the book. If you have read Twisted, leave a comment below and tell me what you thought of it. Please refrain from posting spoilers in the comments, but I will be moderating them so I will ultimately choose what is posted and will add that a comment contains spoilers at the beginning so the book is not spoiled for others.

Continue reading